Dee-1 Announces Forthcoming Album, ‘Slingshot David’

From middle school teacher to lyrical motivator, Dee-1, plans on dropping his much-anticipated album Slingshot David on Friday, November 10th.

The Southern emcee, crafted a body of work that is set to be 13-tracks long. The album includes just one feature from singer Sevyn Streeter who will appear on the track “Love always Wins.”  The single for the album is “Hood Villains,” a track that make you question why the hood is the way it is as he calls out drug dealers, Uncle Toms and institutional racism.  An animated visual was released for “Hood Villains” to accompany the song.

Dee-1, a New Orleans native, is known for his high energy raps that makes you think and question the system we can be tied down to. Once a middle school teacher in Louisiana, he decided that being an emcee was his true calling and was a better tool for teaching than being in a schoolhouse. Slingshot David comes off the momentum of Dee-1 hit songs like “Sallie Mae Back,” “No Car Note,” “No Car Note” and more.


Since dropping the hit song “Sallie Mae Back,” a year ago, Dee-1 has teamed up with Sallie Mae to educate students about higher education and the importance of financial literacy. Dee-1 is currently on tour visiting at numerous HBCU classics. Catch him at a HBCU near you.

Recently Dee-1 also co-hosted the green carpet event at the 2017 BET Hip Hop Awards that took place in Miami.


01. Destiny
02.  Wanna Be A Hot Boy
03.  For The Stars
04.  I Like You
05.  Intelligence
06.  Why Do The Righteous Suffer
07.  Love Always Wins (Feat. Sevyn Streeter)
08.  Hood Villains
09.  Just Clocked In
10.  My People Need Me
11.  The Devil’s Playground
12.  I Don’t Wanna Let You Down
13.  Hol’ Up

Every track is accompanied by a skit on digital versions of the album.

Slingshot David is available for pre-order now.

Readers Also Liked:

4EVA Is A Mighty Long TimeBig K.R.I.T. Reveals Details For ‘4Eva Is A Mightly Long Time’ Album

Chris Brown Reveals Tracklist & Details for ‘Heartbreak On A Full Moon’ Double Disc Album

Eminem Set To Release His 9th Album In November

Kilien St. Jacques

My name is kIlien, and I am an IT professional. The founder of Negus Computers & Robotics. When I'm not messing around with technology I'm enjoying urban entertainment. Site:

Kilien St. Jacques has 152 posts and counting. See all posts by Kilien St. Jacques


Enjoy this site? Please spread the word :)

Copy link